Tim Minchin: Thank you God

Christians bewared. Enter with caution.

Thank you God by Tim Minchin and the Heritage Orchestra

This is a monologue followed by a song in which Tim discusses his view on religion and his reasoning behind it. He starts out with a story which happened to him and then about how he then went home and wrote a song. The song starts at 5:25 if you want to skip it, but it is absolute necessary and worth every second to listen to the monologue before the song to provide some context under which the song was created. Cheers.

So….

Image result for please apply cold water to that burn

Also I love these two comments below the video in the comments section that reads:

“When you get an orchestra to aid in a burn, You’ve just kinda won everything by that point.”

“This guy spent countless hours writing, composing, practicing and performing a song with a full orchestra to tell Sam he’s a colossal fuckwit. This, ladies and gentlemen is the definition of amazing.”

Although I have similar views to Tim and I am pThis guy spent countless hours writing, composing, practicing and performing a song with a full orchestra to tell Sam he’s a colossal fuckwit. This, ladies and gentlemen is the definition of amazing.roud of it, I often find that I lack the capability to adequately describe my views, my thoughts or even come up with any arguments when I’m confronted. This is a perfect video of my viewpoints on religion and why I love Tim so much. 🙂

 

In addition, Tim’s viewpoint of religion also reinforces my view on medicine. As a young doctor, we are always striving to be better; and in the recent years after I’ve started to work at the hospital, we often focus on EBM(evidence based medicine). It matches the thinking process of how we were educated as med students.

And I’ll end with another quote of Tim that has forever been ironed into my mind

“Science adjusts its views based on what’s observed,
Faith is the denial of observation so that belief can be preserved.”

This is a excerpt from his beat poem: Storm, so enjoy another Tim Minchin classic!

Leave a Reply

